Location, Location, Location: Physical Geography of Eliera

Hello. Newbie here. Please pardon if I’m ignorantly posting in the wrong place.

In “Location, Location, Location”, the Taliar and Dalthiar shafts are said to reside at “the hub” on Upperside and Underside, respectively. The only other use of “hub” I know (in the context of flat world geography) is Discworld, so I am presuming that these lie at the centers of the respective sides.

My confusion began when referring to the tunnels of the Icemarch settlements which led away “to the south”.

At which point, my mental coordinate model for Elieran navigation destabilized.

On Discworld, “north” means radially inward - a synonym for “hubward”. Likewise, “south” is identical with “rimward”. The coordinate system for topology is smoothly convertible from the usual planetary arrangement by a simple scale transformation on the N-S axis; “squish” a Roundworld in the dimension of its spin axis and you have a Discworld. The spin axis does not change in this action; Discworld rotates in its plane, like a wheel, and does so to create seasons, not the day/night cycle. (Because Discworld’s thaumaturgical gravity field differs from Eliera’s, there is no habitable area on its Underside, and hence no Antarctic.)

The trouble arises because Eliera’s rotation axis is, per its ephemeris, tangential to its orbit, making it spin like a flipped coin rather than a wheel.

So what the heck do eldrae use for their cardinal directions??

The model I had been using up to this point assumed that “north” and “south” were the directions towards the axis, that “east” and “west” would be the directions in the surface quasi-plane perpendicular to the axis of rotation: the direction of the apparent motion of Lumenna and the “fixed” stars. But this would clash with the use of “south” in the Icemarch, which implies a rimward direction.